The country’s very own design think tank




The Design Advisory Council is a public-private partnership, that aims to shape the country’s design direction through the National Design Policy – equipping and inspiring every Filipino with the right tools to create freely, design purposefully, and innovate boldly

Who we are

The Philippine Design Competitiveness Act of 2013 (RA 10557)

The Design Advisory Council was formed through a mandate by law, RA 10557 or The Philippine Design Competitiveness Act of 2013.

RA 10557 pushes forward competitiveness and innovation in Philippine products and market-responsive design services while championing local economic and environmental sustainability. It highlights the influence of design and creativity as key factors to adapting in the modern world without leaving behind the roots and identity of Philippine culture. Lastly, this law protects local creative communities and industries by advocating intellectual property rights to the original ideas, innovations, and solutions made by designers, creatives, and artists.6

Members of the Design Advisory Council

A partnership made in service of design and creativity in the Philippines, the council is made up of thought and industry leaders hailing from both the public and private sectors. It’s composition shall come from the government sector, and key representatives of the Philippine design industry for place-making, object-making, image-making, and the business innovation domains. The council unifies both sectors in order to guide, educate, and underline the importance of design in strengthening the national creative economy and ultimately, building capacity to compete globally.


Department of Trade and Industry

Secretary Ramon M. Lopez

United Architects of the Philippines

Architect Royal L. Pineda

Private Sector Representatives

Creative Economy Council of the Philippines

Kenneth Cobonpue
Interior Crafts of the Islands

Communication Design Association of the Philippines

Angel Guerrero
adobo magazine

Makati Business Club

Johnlu Koa
The French Baker

Philippine Center for Entrepreneurship

Jenny Weineke
J.Wein Corporation

Public Sector Representatives

Center for International Trade Expositions and Missions

Executive Director
Pauline Suaco - Juan

Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines

Director General Rowel S. Barba

National Commission for Culture and the Arts

Arsenio "Nick" Lizaso

Department of Tourism

Bernadette Romulo - Puyat

Department of Education

Leonor M. Briones

Commission on Higher Education

J Prospero De Vera III

Department of Science and Technology

Fortunato dela Peña

Design Center of the Philippines

Executive Director
Maria Rita O. Matute
Council Secretariat and
Ex-Officio Member

What we do

The Design Advisory Council, under the Philippine Design Competitiveness Act of 2013, is empowered to strengthen the Design Center of the Philippine’s relationship with the Design Industry, in unleashing the power of design to aid in nation-building, specifically to drive competitiveness and innovation to encourage sustainable development in the Philippines.

In doing so, it shall exercise the following powers and functions:

a.  Provide advice and insights imperative in pursuing the mandate of the Design Center by effectively  representing the collective views of both the public and the private sectors;

b.  Advocate for full consideration of design’s contribution to program effectiveness and innovation in government policy decisions;

c.  Review and promote policies where design is a key component;

d.  Act as a liaison among the professional design, design education and government design stakeholders; and

e.  Provide advice and guidance to design education institutions on the development and  standardization of course syllabus, ensuring the propagation of high quality education in design in all regions across the country.

Under Rule III of the Implementing Rules and Regulations of RA 10557, the Design Advisory Council is given the power to issue advisory opinions and recommendations on guidelines or policies for the consideration of Design Center. As such, the Council is composed of fifteen (15) members, nine (9) of which come from the government sector, while the remaining six (6) are from the private sector of whom represent organized associations involved in the design and creative industries, academic communities, along with business and innovation. The Council is to be co-chaired by the Secretary of the DTI, and a representative from the private sector appointed by the President.

Likewise, the National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) and the Professional Regulations Commission (PRC) shall be consulted on the development and formulation of policies concerning the government’s economic agenda and the professional practice of creative and design professionals.

Our Point of Action

Guide the establishment of design as a national strategy for innovation and economic growth

Advocate the development of design education towards greater heights

Championing the importance and value of design

Play Video